A 9 year old boy swallowed a coin. Is it in the Esophagus or the Trachea? Why?

by

What do you think? Post your answer and your reasoning in 50 words or less.

Best Answer wins a prize! Correct answer to be posted on 2/7/08.

coin.jpg
(Anterior/Posterior and Lateral Chest Xray)
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Answer: It’s in the Esophagus

You can answer this question just with knowledge of human anatomy.

A little known fact is that the trachea is not a full circle of cartilage. It’s a C-ring.

Now, in normal anatomy (from the chest to back), the trachea(which leads to the lungs ahhh AIR) sits on top of the esophagus (which leads to the stomach ahhh food). The open end of the C of the C-ring cartilage of the trachea faces your back. Find the C below.

So, with almost 100% certainty a large coin will follow the path of least resistance if it happens to go down your esophagus.

If it’s in the esophagus (like in this patient) the face of the coin will sit flat against the flatter C-ring portion of the abutting trachea just like below. Now, when you take an xray from the front to the back and from side to side it will look like the picture up top. If it’s in the trachea the coin in the xrays (above) will be switched. It will sit end to end on the front to back view(AP) of the chest xray.

This picture is a bird’s eye view. You are looking through a person’s body from the head to the toes. The person’s face is facing to the Left.
c-ring.jpg

Note: Not all kids that swallow a coin will come in with difficulty breathing. Parents usually bring kids in after see their kid pick up a coin and eat it. Also, in kids you can’t say that the normal physiologic swallowing mechanism will prevent a coin from going into the trachea.

13 Responses to “A 9 year old boy swallowed a coin. Is it in the Esophagus or the Trachea? Why?”

  1. quetzalsol Says:

    THe esophagus because the epiglottis closes and allows no passage of any object to go down the trachea other than air (sometimes when things do they begin to cough up or choke)….I don’t believe he’s choking so it can’t be the trachea. What do I win? hahaha…just kidding. Thanks for e-mails. They are very helpful for my premed-self.

    A. Perez

  2. S.A.M Says:

    ABSOLUTELY! THE ESOPHAGUS. IF IT WAS IN THE TRACH, THERE WOULD BE NO TIME TO TAKE THAT X-RAY, BECAUSE THE PATIENT WOULD BE CHOKING. AND IT IS TRUE, THINGS THAT ARE SWALLOWED NORMALLY GO DOWN THE ESOPHAGUS INTO THE STOMACH, ETC. VERY COOL QUESTION!!

  3. Tania Says:

    I think it is in the esophagus. I agree with the two persons above, when I choked on a candy I coughed it out, I could not swallowed it because it was too big. Although the coin is smaller than the candy I choked on jaja.

  4. How to Get Six Pack Fast Says:

    Not that I’m totally impressed, but this is more than I expected for when I stumpled upon a link on Furl telling that the info here is quite decent. Thanks.

  5. Concerned dad Says:

    My kid just swallowed a coin and this really helped calm me down. Thanks.

  6. Pure Raspberry Ketone Says:

    If some one desires expert view about blogging after
    that i recommend him/her to pay a quick visit this webpage, Keep up the
    good job.

  7. Anya Says:

    Wow that was odd. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit
    my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing
    all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say superb blog!

  8. video door phone Says:

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your
    efforts and I will be waiting for your next post thanks once again.

  9. issuu.com Says:

    I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally,
    if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be
    a lot more useful than ever before.

  10. www.youtube.com Says:

    Hi there, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if
    you get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any support is very much appreciated.

  11. generate leads Says:

    Hey there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new apple iphone!
    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and
    look forward to all your posts! Keep up the outstanding work!

  12. www.ctta.org Says:

    Hi! I know this is kind off offf topic but I was wondering which blog
    platform are you using for this website? I’m getting sick and tired oof WordPresss because I’ve
    had probleks with hackers and I’m looking at optjons for another platform.
    I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  13. mokhtar Says:

    it is in esophagus as it appears en face in anteroposterior view whears if in trachea appears en face on lateral view according to anatomt

Leave a Reply

